The Joys of Growth Spurts

Please excuse my absence, I haven’t had a chance to use my computer in a week! Babycakes has been in the middle of a growth spurt and a developmental leap. Needless to say, she has not wanted to leave my arms. She wanted to eat all.day.long. When she wasn’t eating, she was ‘dozing’. Not truly napping but just taking quick little cat naps so I never had enough time to put her down before she woke up. My parents and my in-laws have both commented that although my husband I were both fussy babies, neither one of us was as fussy or demanding as our little babycakes! Oh joy.
Even though it’s been quite an exhausting and demanding week, I’m loving every second with my baby girl cuddled in my arms. I know I will miss this one day when she is running around like a crazy little lady so I will take all the time I can get with her wrapped up in my arms!
Babycakes has been napping for an hour already today, so I’m calling that a small victory. I was really reluctant to put her down, but I thought it would probably be a good thing if I could do a few things for myself today. I’m thinking I may spend some time on pinterest looking for some great recipes to use with peaches and/or blueberries. We have been going to our local orchard and picking blueberries and buying other wonderful farm fresh goodies. In the past week, we have been three times! Obsessed much?! Yesterday, we bought peaches, tomatoes, a red onion, zucchini, swiss chard and corn. I love buying fresh produce. Not only do I get to support a local farm but the produce just tastes so much better. Grocery store tomatoes have no flavor compared to garden fresh. I’ll be sad when the harvest season is over but at least I have a few more months to feed my new little obsession.

2 thoughts on “The Joys of Growth Spurts

  1. Growth spurts are tough! My little is cutting his fourth tooth in two weeks…like you said, oh joy! I miss having farmers' markets at our disposal 😦 You are lucky!New follower from the Mingle!

  2. To survive the nursing demands of growth spurts I would hang out in bed with the baby & watch movies on my laptop. This could take ten hours or so (as was the case for my oldest). You are right, enjoy your time with her

Leave a Reply

